Preserve Fish Island

The property is located on the Intracoastal waterway within the City of St. Augustine, immediately adjacent to the 312 bridge onto Anastasia Island. The property, even though it is in an urbanized environment, has a healthy maritime hammock forest, and preservation would avoid significant run-off and dock impacts to adjacent estuarine habitats. However, the primary conservation purpose is historic, as the island was the site of one of the plantations integral to the history of St. Augustine and still has some ruins and other evidence of the historic use. The property was recently proposed for development, setting a serious community initiative to have the property saved.

Help Us Save Fish Island!

 

 


North Florida Land Trust is asking for the community to show their support for preserving Fish Island by reaching out to Florida Cabinet members. On July 23, the Governor’s Cabinet will meet in Tallahassee to decide if the State will accept the contract and acquire Fish Island through the Florida Forever program. You can contact the Florida Cabinet to express your support for funding Fish Island either by email, phone or by mail at the following:

 

Governor, 850-717-9239

Ron Desantis: Ron.Desantis@MyFlorida.com

Cabinet Aide, Beau Beaubien: beau.beaubien@eog.myflorida.com

Executive Office of 
Governor Ron DeSantis
400 S Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399

 

Attorney General, 850-245-0145

Ashley Moody, Website form for Email

Cabinet Aide, Erin Sumpter: Erin.Sumpter@myfloridalegal.com

Office of the Attorney General
State of Florida
PL-01 The Capitol
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1050

 

Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 850-617-7700

Nikki Fried: Nikki.Fried@FreshFromFlorida.com

Cabinet Aide, Kyle W. Troop: Kyle.Troop@FreshFromFlorida.com

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Plaza Level 10, The Capitol
400 S. Monroe St.
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800

 

Chief Financial Officer, 850-413-2925

Jimmy Patronis:  CFO.Patronis@MyFloridaCFO.com

Cabinet Aide, Robert Tornillo: Robert.Tornillo@MyFloridaCFO.com

Chief Financial Officer
Florida Department of Financial Services
200 East Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0301

 

Secretary of Florida Department of Environmental Protection, 850-245-2118

Noah Valenstein: noah.valenstein@dep.state.fl.us

Florida Department of Environmental Protection
3900 Commonwealth Boulevard
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3000